Catch up and where to go from here?

18 Feb

Things have been pretty quiet around here since last September, with only my Nipponbashi article between October and now. In December I moved to Tsukuba, which of course meant a big disruption to everything. The end of my time in Osaka was basically just more local tournaments, and small updates to my decks here and there. Since moving to Tsukuba, there was the WGP in Tokyo in December, but there wasn’t really much to report on that except for the fact that Lucky Star under-performed. Since the move I’ve managed to meet up with several other foreigners who are into the game, and am starting to get back into regularly playing the game.

End of time in Osaka

As things wound down in Osaka I was generally just playing my Lucky Star deck in the C-Lab tournaments, whilst messing around with the Standard decks in friendlies. For my final tournament in Osaka I decided that I’d run my Alien deck, because I felt it was an appropriate send off. Currently the deck is still suffering from years old restrictions, and the rise of anti-heal hasn’t done it any favours. However, I decided that winning was less important than going out one last time with my first deck.

The tournament that week was a relatively low turn out, but was still split into 2 blocks with about 10 in mine. The results and pairings would end up falling in such a way that it would all be over in 3 rounds, and somehow my Alien deck triumphed. For the first round I fought my way through Little Busters! and their anti-heal. It’s been so long now that I can’t remember the second round, but it wasn’t anything that was particularly worrisome for the deck, and I came out on top. For the third round I faced off against Nisekoi, and this was still during the pre-restrictions period. My opponent had a terrible string of bad luck during the game, failing to get off the Level 1 Marika combo due to my vanillas, then repeatedly being on the receiving end of Summer Festival Nagato. By the end he didn’t even have enough resources to justify doing Marika’s restand.

2014-11-23 18.58.48

WGP Tokyo

This event was a bit of a washout for me. It was a long journey, early in the morning, to get there on time, so my head wasn’t really in it that day. I was using Lucky Star, packing things like double 100M Shock for taking on Marika, which I unfortunately never faced. There was nothing much worth noting, since I was out by the 3rd or 4th round. I was at least able to say hello to some of the foreigners who were also attending the event.

Thoughts on the Emergency Restrictions

It’s now been nearly 2 months since the Nisekoi forced updates, so it’s a bit late to be getting my thoughts out now, especially since there should be another one coming out this month. Although, I wouldn’t be surprised if there were no changes with that update.

The two strongest decks in the game, Nisekoi and Kantai Collection were weakened, whilst two decks from a bygone era, Disgaea and Zero no Tsukaima were given some of their cards back.

Nisekoi deserved to be hit, because it had been absolutely dominating the game since release. The choice of pick 3 essentially banned Raku and the deck refresh Onodera from play, since you have to play the Pendant to get the deck’s most powerful effects. Marika’s still strong at 1, but the deck is nowhere near as bad as before.

Kantai Collection was weakened slightly, but is currently probably the strongest deck out there. Junyou was deservedly banned, since she’s one of the stupidest cards Bushiroad have ever made, whilst Akagi took her place on the pick 3. This just means everyone plays Akagi. Kantai pretty much defines the playing field at the moment, but it would only have been worse without these changes.

Disgaea got Laharl back and it’s had no impact. The game has moved on since Disgaea’s heal loop was an issue.

Zero no Tsukaima got all of its cards back, but once again this doesn’t seem to have done much. In the face of decks like Kantai Collection lots of healing simply won’t cut it any longer. It should still be good against lots of decks without anti-heal, but it’s not safe with the majority of any given event being Kantai.

Now I’m just patiently waiting to see if they’re going to do any updates for February or not.

Updates to decks / new decks

Since my last update I’ve gotten my hands on a few new decks, updated others or just increased their rarity.

Girlfriend (Beta) came out, and I decided to try putting 3 decks together for that. Although, so far I still haven’t bothered getting all the Red cards yet. I’ve got everything I need for Blue, and most of the Yellow cards, so those two currently have working decks. The Yellow (touch Red) build is strong, but very straightforward and lacking on defence. Blue just seems to wall up a lot. The Yellow build is probably one of the safest options I have for entering a tournament.

Nagato Yuki

I have finally managed to max out my Alien deck after how ever many years its been since I started playing. It’s pretty bad with Kantai around as the top deck, but one can always dream.

My Tabitha deck has undergone a retool, and is now sporting 7 signed cards (6 Tabitha and 1 Louise). Since increasing the number of Louise in here, I doubt it’ll ever reach max rarity now. The whole deck is pretty much a gimmicky rush deck now. If you’re very lucky you’ll be able to play the Level 2 Tabitha during Level 0, ideally as early as turn 2.

If that fails, they’ll come out sooner or later, and once you’re above Level 2 you can start using the Alarm Tabitha to give all your Yellow cards +1 Soul. Hitting for 6 does happen sometimes. From here you can just hope that Louise can keep on bring Cost 0s back to ram into your opponent.

My traitless deck has seen some changes to accommodate the Level 3 Riki and a 2nd Miyako. This is still one of my favourite decks to play, and the Alarm Kunikida is a great card to spring on people.

My Glasses deck has also had some minor updates to incorporate the new Level 3 from Girlfriend (Beta). It’s still very much a deck about walling up against whatever your opponent can throw at you. It doesn’t really have a game plan beyond this. Filling your field with 16ks whilst holding a 5k counter is just nice sometimes.

Current situation in Tsukuba / Tokyo

Currently I’m in Tsukuba, which doesn’t really have much in the way of cards. There’s a shop tournament on Monday evenings which I attend, that usually has about 10 people. I’ve tried out a few different decks there so far, but nothing has really been that successful.

From where I am, it takes a bit over an hour (timetables dependent) to get to Akihabara, which has plenty of card shops. This allows me to meet up with other players on the weekends and get in practice with my decks.

This past weekend I went to Nakano for the first time, which is meant to have the shop with the largest shop tournaments in the area. I had fun messing about with my Gigant Shooter deck, and playing friendlies with the Traitless deck afterwards. I’m certainly considering going back there again in the future, because it was a fun evening.

What Now?

At the moment, I’m not really sure what to do with this blog. It’s been months since I’ve written something regularly, and outside of maybe local tournament reports I can’t really think of much to write on. I’d like to keep things going in some way.

If there’s any content people might find useful, you can either contact me on here, or on Twitter @Xagor1

Leave a Reply

