Today sees a new event card for Madoka, and it’s a rare piece of character removal. For Fate/Zero we get what looks to be a Climax synergy card that’s anti-Encore.
A sudden mishap
Yellow / Event / Level 2 / Cost 2 / No Trigger
Choose 1 of your opponent’s Front Stage Level 2 or below characters and put it to Memory.
In Weiβ Schwarz it’s usually very rare to get rid of characters via methods other than battle. You usually need to meet very specific conditions to use them, or can be restricted to only lower level cards. This card allowing you to pick what you get rid of makes it a very easy card to use by comparison. In addition since it sends the card to Memory the card can’t be Encored, and very few decks can do anything about cards once they reach Memory. Basically something hit by this card won’t be coming back.
Since it can only get Front Stage cards it can’t get rid of those annoying support cards though, and being capped at level 2 means it can’t take out the opponent’s real power houses.
If you can afford it the card can be very useful against Encore based decks like Angel Beats! that can be otherwise hard to clear off the Stage. However in most cases it’s actually better in the long run just to play a character to the Stage that can beat the card in question anyway. It’ll often cost less or the same amount, and you can also cause damage, protect yourself and gain the stock back.
Cursed yellow spear, Lancer
Green / Level 2 / Cost 1 / 8000 / 1 Soul / 1 Soul Trigger
«サ-ヴァント Servant» / «武器 Weapon»
[A] [Put 1 [Mortal Yellow Rose] from your Hand to the Waiting Room] When this card attacks, you may pay the cost. If you do so, search for up to 1 «武器 Weapon» character from your Deck, show it to your opponent and add it to your Hand. After that, shuffle that Deck, and for that turn, this card gains Power +3000 and your opponent cannot use [[A] ENCORE]. ([[A] ENCORE [(3)]] from the rules cannot be used as well)
Lancer here appears to be another one of the type of Climax synergy cards, where rather than activating his ability when you have a Climax card in play, you have to discard the Climax card to activate it. This means you give up the potentially powerful effect of the Climax card for this ability. The worth of this will depend on what the Climax card in question does. In some cases you might not want the Climax effect, for example if it boosts Soul a lot you might want to avoid that to have more control over the damage you cause, and make it more likely you won’t get cancelled. Other times you’ll have a tough choice deciding between a power boost to all your characters or just 1.
This card’s actual effect should hopefully make up for giving up a Climax card though. Firstly it fetches a «武器 Weapon» character, which I believe Fate has quite a few to choose from. This means you break even on discarding the Climax, and can exchange it for a card you need next turn. The power boost places him at a base 11000, hopefully meaning that he can take down most threats once supported. After this since you turn off your opponent’s Encore for the turn, whatever he defeats (which is likely near anything) won’t be coming back any time soon. In addition all your other characters benefit from the disabling of Encore, meaning that if you use this effect at the correct time you can clear your opponent’s whole Front Stage in one turn, leaving them to pick up the piece next turn. This can be especially useful against decks like Angel Beats!